And the clock struck infinity

by mylongdalliance

 

Image

I have a schedule that I have committed to that includes a minimum of 2000 words per day.  I am aware that this is a large undertaking, as this does not include my full time Arts degree that I am mid way through and this blog.  I have placed a pretty sheet of paper on the wall next to my study desk that screams in permanent ink “2000 words”.  It is bordered with a floral trimming to appear more subtle with its request.

I began this task yesterday when the words of a friend who is on the other side of the globe kept whispering in my ear, “Write like there is no tomorrow”.

I closed my eyes and thought about the true meaning of the words.  What if there really was no tomorrow?  What if tomorrow fell into an abyss, a bottomless chasm, and the only thing left were pages floating through space like driftwood?  There would be nowhere for my words to wash up, no shores for them to take rest upon.  But there would be you see.

There would be space, and time, two permanent certainties.  If my words were to swim between the blackness of space and time, I can say I have achieved my dreams.  So 2000 words per day I will write.  Even if they struggle to find eyes to amuse, I know that time is of the essence and will continue to house them long after I too disappear into the abyss.

